Philosophy of Mind

Fall 2022

Cambridge University Library MS Gg1.1, fol. 490v.

A depiction of the “interior powers” of the mind: “common sense, imaginings, judging, and remembering”, circa 1330. From Cambridge University Library MS Gg. 1.1, Folio 490v. For discussion, see Mary J. Carruthers, “Two Unusual Mind Diagrams in a Late Fifteenth-Century Manuscript”, Manuscript Studies, Vol. 4, No. 2, Fall 2019, pp. 389-400. URI: https://doi.org/10.1353/mns.2019.0017

Details

Course CodeLocationTimes
PHIL-SHU 801555 Century Avenue, Room 604Mondays and Wednesdays, 9:45am to 11:00am

Instructor

NameEmailOfficeConsultation Times
Brad Weslakebrad.weslake@nyu.edu1555 Century Avenue, Room 961By appointment

Overview

This class is an introduction to philosophy of mind. No prior philosophy, psychology or neuroscience will be assumed.

Assessment

Requirements:

The final grade will be determined approximately as follows:

First Exam: 20%
Second Exam: 20%
First Paper: 20%
Second Paper: 30%
Attendance and participation: 10%

Assessment dates:

First Exam: Saturday 8 October
First Paper: Sunday 6 November
Second Exam: Monday 21 November
Second Paper: Wednesday 14 December

Policies

Attendance and Lateness

Students are required to attend all classes on time. An explanation for every absence or late attendance must be submitted in writing to the instructor. Every failure to attend class on time will count against the component of the final grade awarded for attendance and participation, unless an explanation is received and approved at least one day prior to the class in question. Requests for exceptions will be considered on a case by case basis, and typically granted only when related to an illness or other unforeseeable change in life circumstance.

Integrity

It is a condition on passing this course that students read and adhere to the NYU Shanghai policy on academic integrity as described in the current NYU Shanghai Academic Bulletin.

Course Materials

All notes, readings and assignments can be found here.

The following books have been placed on reserve in the library:

Schedule

Meeting 1: Introductory Discussion (Wednesday 14 September)

Meeting 2: The Mark of the Mental (Saturday 17 September)

Primary Reading
Secondary Reading

Meeting 3: Dualism: Epistemological Arguments (Monday 19 September)

Primary Reading
Secondary Reading

Meeting 4: Dualism: The Problem of Interaction (Wednesday 21 September)

Primary Reading
Secondary Reading

Meeting 5: Dualism: The Pairing Problem (Monday 26 September)

Primary Reading
Secondary Reading

Meeting 6: Review (Wednesday 28 September)

National Day Holiday: Fall Break

Meeting 7: First Exam (Saturday 8 October)

Meeting 8: Behaviour and Knowledge of Minds (Monday 10 October)

Primary Reading
Secondary Reading

Meeting 9: Behaviourism (Wednesday 12 October)

Primary Reading
Secondary Reading

Meeting 10: The Identity Theory (Monday 17 October)

Primary Reading

Meeting 11: Common Sense Functionalism (Wednesday 19 October)

Primary Reading
Secondary Reading

Meeting 12: Multiple Realisation (Saturday 22 October)

Primary Reading
Secondary Reading

Meeting 13: Machine Functionalism (Monday 24 October)

Primary Reading

Meeting 14: Objections to Functionalism (Wednesday 26 October)

Primary Reading

Meeting 15: Functionalism and Consciousness I (Monday 31 October)

Primary Reading

Meeting 16: Functionalism and Consciousness II (Wednesday 2 November)

Primary Reading
Secondary Reading

Meeting 17: Emotion: Feeling Theories (Monday 7 November)

Primary Reading
Secondary Reading

Meeting 18: Emotion: Evaluative Theories (Wednesday 9 November)

Primary Reading
Secondary Reading

Meeting 19: Emotion: Motivational Theories (Monday 14 November)

Primary Reading
Secondary Reading

Meeting 20: Emotion: Natural Kinds (Wednesday 16 November)

Primary Reading
Secondary Reading

Meeting 21: Second Exam (Monday 21 November)

Meeting 22: Buddhist Philosophy of Mind: Suffering (Wednesday 23 November)

Primary Reading
Secondary Reading

Meeting 23: No Class (Monday 28 November)

Meeting 24: Buddhist Philosophy of Mind: The Self I (Wednesday 30 November)

Primary Reading
Secondary Reading

Meeting 25: Buddhist Philosophy of Mind: The Self II (Monday 5 December)

Primary Reading
Secondary Reading

Meeting 26: (Wednesday 7 December)

Meeting 27: (Monday 12 December)

Meeting 28: (Wednesday 14 December)

Updated: 20 November 2022